Skip to content

Girls and boys calculate the right formula for success in Maths

Earlier this year our pupils celebrated a prestigious code-breaking double, winning both the Alan Turing Cryptography Competition and the National Cipher Challenge – Senior Deputy Head Mrs Donna Harris was asked to write an article for respected education magazine Conference and Common Room about the Maths teaching which led to this success.

In her article Mrs Harris talks about the approach taken to Maths at Stockport Grammar School and why this enables boys and girls to achieve, without a gender divide.

“Here at Stockport Grammar School we had not encountered a girl/boy divide in take-up of Mathematics or STEM subjects at GCSE or A Level, or in University subjects, but it was clear that other schools had a different experience.

This prompted me to consider what we were doing well and what we could do more of.”

To find out more, and to read the article in full, please click here.

The National Cipher Challenge saw the Stockport Grammar School team, Pythag’R’Back, compete against over 3,500 teams at the University of Southampton to be declared the overall winners, receiving the IBM Award of £1,000 at Bletchley Park, the once top-secret home of the World War Two codebreakers.

The pupils involved were Sam Howard, Nathan Kingsley, Wolodymyr Krywonos, Callum Boyle, Lauryn Howard, Murray Jallands, Pippa Brown, Phoebe Micklefield and Alex Pollard.

In the Alan Turing Cryptography Competition our pupils were victorious, outwitting over 1,000 teams, in the national contest organised by the School of Mathematics at the University of Manchester.

The competition follows the story of two young cipher sleuths, Mike and Ellie, as they get caught up in a cryptographic adventure ‘The Tale of the Morphogenesis Mystery’.

New chapters are released over six weeks, each with a fiendish code to crack. Points are earned by cracking each code and submitting your answer.

The Stockport Grammar team, Pythag’R’Us – made up of Lauryn Howard, Pippa Brown, Phoebe Micklefield and Zahra Butt, were crowned as winners after picking up the most points across the six chapters and the epilogue.