Skip to content

Junior School Prize Giving 2021

Junior School Prize Giving 2021 award winners

Year Six pupils were rewarded for their academic ambition and community spirit at this year’s Junior School Prize Giving.

With parents tuning in at home via Google Meet, the Chairman of Governors Mr Christopher Dunn welcomed everyone to the celebration.

The Year Six Orchestra performed Mozart’s ‘Non Piu Andrai’ from ‘The Marriage Of Figaro’ before Junior School Headmaster Mr Matthew Copping delivered an inspiring talk where he read from broadcaster, writer and adventurer Ben Fogle’s book ‘Up: My Life’s Journey to the Top of Everest’.

Pupils then picked up their well-earned prizes. A list of award winners can be found at the bottom of this story.

Finn Mc performed a baritone solo – Tom Davoren’s ‘Beaufort Allegro’ – and the Head Boys and Girls for the year James P, Robert L, Finn R, Florence B, Maya G and Charlotte U delivered humorous and appreciative speeches reflecting on their time in the Junior School.

The Leavers’ Awards were then presented and this was followed by a vocal solo by Erin R who sang ‘Part Of Your World’ from ‘The Little Mermaid’ – this year’s Year Six play.

Rev Liz Leaver, the School’s Chaplin, offered a prayer and Irish Blessing before all of Year Six concluded the Prize Giving with an energetic and rousing version of ‘Under The Sea’ from ‘The Little Mermaid’.

The prize winners were:

  • Football – Marley S
  • Netball – Melika M
  • Hockey – Florence B
  • Rugby – Harry S
  • Swimming – Gerard B S
  • Sportsman Of The Year – Stanley D
  • Sportswomen Of The Year – Ava A

  • Singing – Erin R
  • Strings – Alex P
  • Woodwind – Sadie-May F
  • Brass – Finn Mc
  • Percussion – Maya G

  • Drama – Robert L
  • English – George M
  • Mathematics – James P
  • Science – Daniel S
  • Modern Foreign Languages – Mehul V
  • ICT – Noah B-R
  • Art – Sophia M
  • Design and Technology – Noah M-E

  • The Richard Reeman Cup (awarded to the pupil who has made an outstanding contribution to school sport) – Ted D
  • The Old Stopfordians’ Award (awarded for being a good citizen of the school) – Finn R
  • The Alan Baxendale Cup (awarded to the pupil who has made a significant contribution to school life) – Charlotte U
  • The Jeremy Hough Cup (awarded for outstanding contribution to cricket) – Adam S