Skip to content

Senior Prefects show leadership and responsibility

At Stockport Grammar we provide pupils with many opportunities for leadership and responsibility.

In the Sixth Form, students have a programme of personal development which includes being a member of the Senior Prefect Team.

The Head Boy and Head Girl liaise with the Headmaster and Senior Staff regarding the general running of the School and the operation of the Prefect system. Senior Prefects act as deputies for the Head Boy and Head Girl, undertaking various duties such as playing a major role in the running of the School Council, charities and the House system.

Sixth Formers, along with staff members, have the responsibility of nominating students they feel should be School Prefects. The Head Boy, Head Girl and Senior Prefects are chosen from amongst the School Prefects by Senior staff following interviews.

All of our Sixth Formers are expected to be role models for good conduct throughout the school and there are many opportunities for them to take on roles offering support to their peers. Lower School Friends help First and Second Year pupils to settle into school life and each form has a group of four or five Sixth Formers “attached” to it. They are given training at the start of the school year and attend form periods, visit the form in lunch times and are generally available for the First and Second Years when needed.

There are many new extra and super curricular opportunities in which Sixth Formers can take part and often lead and the students can offer academic support to younger pupils in a number of forums, such as the Biology Help Club.

The Senior Prefect Team for the 2019-2020 academic year are:

  • Head Boy: Alexander Malone
  • Head Girl: Kate Roberts
  • Deputy Head Boy: Sameer Javid
  • Deputy Head Girl: Phoebe Christodoulou
  • Senior Prefects – School: Jack Buchanan, Pippa Brown, Sarah Callow, Will Garrett, Lauryn Howard, Awais Khan, Laura Murray, Beth Taylor, Sameer Javid and Ben Wilson
  • Senior Prefects – Charities: Charlie Escott, Sophie Douglas, Katie Hicks and Felix Roland
  • Senior Prefects – School Council: Olivia Austin, Oliver Butler, Phoebe Christodoulou and Omid Kordmahalleh
  • Senior Prefects – House:
    • Arden – Lili Ashton, Almira Awan-Rutter, Lucy Foster and Samuel Shilton
    • Nicholson – Imogen Belshaw, Pippa Crook, Emily Daniels and Emily Hibbins
    • Vernon – Alice Jones, T’Don Kennedy, Jacob Noakes and Jake Thorley
    • Warren – Amelia Davies, Ben Foster, Daisy Hanson and Toby Jones.

Visit the Sixth Form section of our website to learn more about life in Lower and Upper Sixth.